Trauma Centers

Trust the specially trained teams in Essentia Health’s trauma centers to care for you or a loved one after a sudden, severe injury.

What’s a Trauma Center?

A trauma specializes in caring for extreme and life-threatening injuries. You’ll find all the resources and specialists of an emergency room plus surgeons and nurses with advanced training to treat traumatic injuries.

If you or a loved one has a traumatic injury, call 911 right away. The paramedics will assess your condition and determine where to take you for care. You may go to a trauma center if you need care for:

  • Blunt trauma More Information
  • Brain injury
  • Gunshot wound
  • Injuries from a serious fall
  • Injuries from a serious car accident
  • Major burns
  • Stab wound

Trauma Center Levels

Hospitals may be designated as level I, II, III, IV, or V trauma centers based on their resources and the number of patients they treat. Level I centers offer the most comprehensive care.

Your state designates trauma center levels in your community. The American College of Surgeons (ACS), may also verify their status.

Level I Trauma Centers

Level I Trauma Centers provide total care for each patient through every aspect of injury – from emergency care through rehabilitation. You’ll find 24-hour coverage by trauma surgeons, radiologists and anesthesiologists as well as access to specialists including neurosurgeons, plastic surgeons and trauma fellowship-trained orthopedic surgeons. Level I Trauma Centers also participate in trauma-related research and education to improve patient outcomes and the health of communities. Essentia facilities with Level I accreditation include:

Level II Trauma Centers

Level II Trauma Centers provide comprehensive care for most conditions. You’ll find 24-hour coverage by general surgeons, as well as access to orthopedic surgeons, neurosurgeons, anesthesiologists, emergency medicine doctors, radiologists, and critical care specialists. Essentia facilities with Level II accreditation include:

Level III Trauma Centers

Level III Trauma Centers provide prompt assessment, resuscitation, surgery, intensive care, and stabilization. You’ll find 24-hour coverage by emergency medicine doctors, as well as quick access to general surgeons and anesthesiologists. Essentia facilities with Level III accreditation include:

Level IV Trauma Centers

Level IV Trauma Centers evaluate and stabilize patients, and then safely transfer them to a higher level trauma center if needed. You’ll find emergency department staff trained to provide advanced traumatic life support (ATLS), 24-hour laboratory services, and access to trauma nurses and doctors. Essentia facilities with Level IV accreditation include:

Injury Prevention

Count on Essentia trauma centers to help reduce injuries in your community through education, programs, and outreach activities.

Trauma Update

Read our quarterly Trauma Update newsletter from the trauma team at Essentia Health-St. Mary's Medical Center (Duluth).

View quarterly newsletters